Dean's Corner

Frank R. Seaver College of Science and Engineering
Office of the Dean

  • Dean Tina Choe headshotTina Choe is Dean of the Frank R. Seaver College of Science and Engineering. She earned her B.S. and Ph.D. in Chemistry from University of California, Los Angeles and joined the LMU community in 1995 as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. She advanced to the rank of Professor in 2007.

    After serving as Chair of the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department from 2008-2012, she continued providing leadership in the college as Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies from 2012-2014.

    An organic chemist, Dr. Choe is interested in the development of new synthetic methods, natural product synthesis and in science education. In 2008, Dr. Choe was acknowledged for her dedication to teaching, research, and the Loyola Marymount University community with the Fritz B. Burns Distinguished Professor Award. 



  • Seaver College Leadership Council

    S.W. Tina Choe, Ph.D.

    Associate Deans
    Suzanne Larson, Ph.D.
    Nazmul Ula, Ph.D.

    Assistant Dean
    Sandra Luca, Ph.D.

    Department Chairs and Program Directors
    Wendy Binder, Ph.D.- Chair, Department of Biology
    Jeremy McCallum, Ph.D.- Chair, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
    Don Kendall, Ph.D.- Chair, Department of Civil Engineering and Environmental Science
    Ray Toal, Ph.D.- Chair, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    Sarah Strand, Ph.D.- Chair, Department of Health and Human Sciences
    Patrick Shanahan, Ph.D.- Chair, Department of Mathematics
    Matthew Siniawski, Ph.D.- Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering
    Jonas Mureika, Ph.D.-Chair, Department of Physics
    Barbara Marino, Ph.D.- Director, Electrical Engineering Undergraduate Program
    Rachel Adams, Ph.D.- Director, Director, Environmental Science Undergraduate Program
    Claire Leon, Ph.D.- Director, Systems Engineering  


    Graduate Program Directors

    Christina Eubanks-Turner, Ph.D.- Director, MAT Program
    Jeremy Pal, Ph.D.- Director, Civil Engineering and Environmental Science Graduate Programs
    Gustavo Vejarano, Ph.D.- Director, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Graduate Programs
    Rafiqul Noorani, Ph.D.- Director, Mechanical Engineering Graduate Program
    Claire Leon, Ph.D.- Director, Systems Engineering  
    Bohdan Oppenheim, Ph.D.,- Associate Director, Healthcare Systems Engineering Program

    Dean's Office Staff

    Communications Manager - Tiffany Jonick
    Director of Facilities - Jessica Lyon
    Director of Development - Lynn Witherspoon
    Assistant to the Dean - NaKesha Mayfield
    Senior Administrative Coordinator - Leonard Lamb
    Senior Administrative Coordinator - Karen Valencia

  • Seaver Executive Advisory Board


    The Dean's Executive Advisory Board will reconvene during the Fall 2019 semester.